Candy workshop chair upcycling with Kyle Lane

Are you ever looking for something to do with a group of friends that doesn’t involve copious amounts of alcohol 😛 I know I know … Bare with me!

my own little box to set me up for future attempts!

I am a big fan of workshops.. A day of fun where you get to create something. Coming home with something I’ve made makes me feel create but also makes you feel you are getting great bang for your buck.

We wanted to do something so I got in touch with Kyle lane about their Candy workshop. A fun day where you get to gossip with the girls, yummy food and in this case a pretty chair!

yum yum yum

Now I’ve done cupcake or sugar paste workshops by myself so heading solo doesn’t bother me so even though I grabbed a group of girlies for this one I’d head back solo. What I mean is for those of you worried, this workshop is really one you can pop along to yourself!

such lovely touches

Kyle Lane is run by Joanne Condon. She up-cycles old furniture and breathes new life into it. With a lick of paint, some new fabric and a lot of effort she makes them pretty again.. And now it’s your turn to join the fun as she has opened a calendar of workshops.


We arrived to personalised boxes, filled with all we need to carry on our upcycling fun when we leave. I was placed beside the Candy table… Heaven!! We had tea and coffee station and little personalised drinking glasses.. Such lovely little touches!


You start with a blank canvas of a chair (provided by Kyle Lane.) Then you pick patterns and paint and start your journey. Along the way you learn all the tricks of the trade. We had such a laugh, met some lovely people. I learned loads.. I want to paint everything now 🙂



As you know I love my colourful pieces.. It was “party time” red for me! This is going to look fantastic in my new studio. So far I’ve only cleared it out and put in new door and windows.. But at least I have a chair 😛


I just love it!! Check out her website for links to rest of workshops this year. She was filling us in for her plans for next year and it’s so exciting!!

bare studio & chair lol

Can’t wait to fill you in on all my news! So quiet now on blog as I’m busy busy in new job and fixing new studio! Exciting times 🙂

Cam x

we got a littke jar of our paints fir touch ups and were taught how to paint flowers on doorknobs

“party time” red

before

12 thoughts on “Candy workshop chair upcycling with Kyle Lane

  1. cynthiamvoss says:

    Looks like a fun day! I have seen little “paint & sip” evening events where you learn to paint in a group while drinking wine, but those have only recently come to my area. Have not tried it yet. I would love to do a chair workshop too! Congrats on your new job!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. tedgiffin says:

    This reminded me of a great childhood experience. Xmas Winter 1975, mom took me to a workshop with all these other little kids and we made art out of food, and decorations..All these kids and food and paint..It was so much fun!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment, I would love to hear from you :) you can comment through FB/Twitter tab on this also

