Male Figure: Watercolour on Artset app

“The very strength that protects the heart from injury is the strength that prevents the heart from enlarging to its intended greatness within. The song of the voice is sweet, but the song of the heart is the pure voice of heaven.”

-Kahlil Gibran


Strength is not just physical. Sing up πŸ™‚

This is a companion piece to yesterday’s Female watercolour. A little darker and messier… Some more depth of colour πŸ™‚ I’m very happy with how these two pieces turned out.

I often wonder why I don’t draw men more, woman are more attractive in their curves and contours but I like the contrast and harsh shapes the male formΒ brings to the piece.

Hope you enjoy πŸ™‚

Cam x

12 thoughts on “Male Figure: Watercolour on Artset app

  1. Tom Donovan says:

    Hey Cam – nice work! Not familiar with ARTSET, but can see you are acquiring a real comfort with the medium – lines and shapes – nice skin tones and shadows. Can also see you are a student of the anatomy – proportions and landmarks look terrific. I keep a couple “anatomy for artists” books next to my bed and most nights spend a couple minutes looking at them before turning out the light. Has helped my figure drawing without my being aware of it. Must be my subconscious makes a contribution when the pencil is in my hand : )

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cam (ArtbyCarmelBehan) says:

      Thanks Tom. Art set is great, it’s unusual to use digital to make marks but it’s great. Thanks re anatomy, I think it’s more my study of shadows rather than anatomy but I’m happy the proportion looks somewhat right.. I’m always a bit unsure of that πŸ™‚ you can’t beat the subconscious:)

      Like

Leave a Comment, I would love to hear from you :) you can comment through FB/Twitter tab on this also

