Popcorn Time: McFarland USA

I dunno what is going on with my film choices lately but I seemed to have really regressed to child hood movies.

My brain can’t take any heavy thinking lately (ahem ever) so at the mo I’m gravitating to funny and uplifting stuff … ones where I check my brain out when I push play.

Luckily for my brain (but not movie world as a whole) most films seem to be like this at the mo and I am spoiled for choice.

McFarland,_USA_poster

Now if you are based in America or basically anywhere you have probably seen this already. If not get ordering the DVD or stream for the kids cause I really enjoyed this.

Starring: Kevin Costner, Maria Bello, Morgan Saylor, Carlos Pratts, Ramiro Rodriguez

Running Time: 129 mins

Cert: PG

McFarland USA is based on the true story of Jim White who moves to McFarland and becomes a cross-country couch. He transforms a team to become champion contenders.

Ok first things first let’s get the obvious out of the way..you have a stereotypical cliche of a white guy coming in and turning things around for a these Mexican kids. They don’t ignore this cliche in fairness.. they play it up in parts.. the guys call him Blanco.. but at the end of the day this is a true story so I am going to just go with it as the film has a lot of heart.

I felt EXTREMELY lazy watching these kids. They worked early in morning, went to school, worked in the evening and then he had them running non stop. As someone who needs to lie down for the day after a 5k I was feeling very inadequate.

Training

Training

Kevin Costner.. well he is Kevin Costner.. you either love him or hate him.. I actually have a bit of a soft spot for him… and we know he can do a sports movie.

This is Disney.. so its cheese, and it doesn’t mind. Neither did I.

The cast are all great. The script is great and I honestly really left this film moved. I was telling everyone about these guys.

The Real Deal

The Real Deal

 

So it turns out a film can be totally cliche, predictable and still heart warming… Get your kids watching this and they might learn something or get an urge to exercise 🙂

Get ’em while they are young 🙂

Review: Cliche, but worth it. Check out your brain and the door and check in your heart cause this is a sweetie 🙂

Rating: 3.5/5

Enjoy

Right I’m off for a jog…

Cam x

8 thoughts on “Popcorn Time: McFarland USA

Leave a Comment, I would love to hear from you :) you can comment through FB/Twitter tab on this also

