Popcorn Time: Big Game

Poster

Oh god if I review every film I see, you are going to be thinking I never stop at the cinema.. which I suppose its true…

I had wanted to see Mad Max but my sister, who is down visiting, had already been. The only thing she hadn’t seen was Big Game. (Yes our cinema addiction may be genetic)

So off we trotted with the mother (yes we are kids lol ) to get our popcorn and Malteasers fix. Does anyone else mix these? mmmm heaven

Big Game Stars:Samuel L Jackson, Onni Tommila, Ray Stevenson, Mehmet Kurtulus, Victor Garber, Ted Levine, Felicity Huffman, Jim Broadbent, Jorma Tomilla

Run Time: 90 mins

Cert: 12A

Big Game tells the story of a young Finnish hunter called Oskari ( Tommila) who is taking part in a hunter right of passage on his 13th birthday.  This little dude is great.

He is meant to bring back a deer to prove he is a man to his proud father but instead he ends up finding the President (Jackson) who has been betrayed by his security, has been thrown to earth from Air Force One and is being hunted by wealthy nutters (He is the ‘Big Game’ in the hunt if you are wondering).

After the disappointment that was my other ‘kids movie’ Tomorrowland I wasn’t expecting much. I was just there for the popcorn. I was pleasantly surprised.

I respect when a move gives the audience (especially kids) a bit of credit. Here, they have not magically made the Finnish people speak english to each other (yay for accepting that people can handle an accent or subtitles, pet hate)

But whats this new fetish for Bow & Arrows about, alot of heros rocking them lately. Harder than it looks I can tell you! I empathise with his struggle to get the arrow to go more than a few feet (Transition year adventure trip flashbacks!) 😦

Big-Game-Trailer

I’m not sure how much of the film is actually MEANT to be funny but in fairness I laughed a good bit. Mostly  in a cringing way though. The one liners are cheese but it kinda works.. kinda 😛 It’s rediculous in a fun way.

All in all it’s a sweet film and reminds me a bit of that  Free Willy era when I was younger. The little kid that is brave and stands up against baddies.. Very watchable one to bring the kids to (though it is 12A with a good share of violence so older kiddies)

Review: Easy watching kids flick. Most likely a hit with 9-14 year old kids who like action. Also its usually only on early so fresh popcorn.. double yeay 😛

My rating: 3/5

Cam x

Check out more images and trailers on the IMDB site

Leave a Comment, I would love to hear from you :) you can comment through FB/Twitter tab on this also

