Black and white challenge Day 3 of 5

IMG_1122

Can Dogs and Cats see in colour? This is the musings that came to me when I decided to photograph the Pups for todays black and white challenge.. ok I know should have been focusing solely on the task at hand but I get easily distracted…

Above is Chester, He is a yorkie… and a cutie! He decided to pose for me and help me with my challenge.. he even stayed still for like, five seconds. He is, at the moment, a lovely dirty white (from dragging himself around, belly to ground,under trees and cars .. I think he thinks he is in army training, he rathers the camouflage of dirt).

I like the way the tarmac texture really pops in this and the shadow he is creating. He is also looking a lot more textured in monochrome. I also like the way the petals in the background pop too.. you don’t notice them much when Chester was in colour.

IMG_1137

This is Flaherty. He isn’t as helpful as Chester in the posing front. He had just stuck his face in the pond so hence the wet dark gob on him. I think he only looked at me cause he thought I might have food 🙂 The exposure all wrong on this, too white and black, but I tend to do that anyway.. even in colour, I like the dramatic contrasts.

Possibly the most successful part of todays challenge was getting a non blurry pic of the doggies, whatever the colour. As we are in black and white ‘Selfie’ mode today I got one of myself too, see below.. I like the shadows on this though I look rather serious (blinded by the sun/shock of a few seconds of sun between rain!) I am not a selfie fan but they are nicer in black and white I think 🙂

Also..if you are interested.. I had to google if dogs see in colour and Pedigree said the below.. random fact- you’re welcome.

While we can’t ask dogs to read an eye chart or pick out colors, behavioral tests suggest that dogs see in shades of yellow and blue and lack the ability to see the range of colors from green to red. In other words, dogs see the colors of the world as basically yellow, blue, and gray.

If you have an interest in doing the 5 day challenge I really recommend it. Today I am going to nominate Sabiscuit, if you have time or interest. No pressure!

The rules of the Black and White challenge are:

1) To post a photo every day for 5 days
2) To write a story to accompany your photo for 5 days (this can be fiction or non-fiction, a page, a paragraph or a poem)
3) To nominate a different person each day

Happy Snapping (you not the pups!)

(a very serious looking)

Cam x

IMG_1126

2 thoughts on “Black and white challenge Day 3 of 5

Leave a Comment, I would love to hear from you :) you can comment through FB/Twitter tab on this also

