Black and white challenge Day 2 of 5

IMG_1124

I remember an experiment where they dyed food blue and people wouldnt eat it.. This must be why .. I need colour in my food 🙂

This black and white challenge is really interesting. I think its getting into my brain cause I was dreaming in monochrome last night even though I had just finished  a really colourful painting 😛  I am not joking!!

In my opinion, monochrome creates an easy bridge to an emotive or striking photo, often quite serious. What I’ve noticed though, if done wrong, like in my voyage of discovery today (ha) AND depending on what you shoot, it can feel like the dull life of the Truman show.

Its like someone has sucked the colour out of life (ok that is tad over dramatic, out of food maybe..but you get my drift) If colours work in real life they look great, but they might look very washed out in this kind of photography.

IMG_1136

Strawberries, Blueberries, Granola and Yogurt- Truman style

 

Take these photos I took of fruit. I knew this wouldn’t really work so I thought it might be interesting to just go with it, Failure teaches us eh? In colour and real life these are a multicoloured bowl of tastiness… Here.. well they don’t look like something you would rush to eat!

It changes the subject, you focus more on the different textures when the colour is muted. I think my friends Lisa and Rachels blogs wouldn’t be so interesting if they photographed their food in black and white ha But maybe they would do it better than me 🙂

Not a successful photo shoot but I’m keeping it as I learned something from it so maybe you do too! Can you guess what the last one is below? I popped it in cause it looks so different in black and white… Mashed banana… looks yuck doesn’t it!

Lol I guess that saying you eat with your eyes might have a bit of truth as these are not making me hungry 🙂

Lesson from todays challenge= No colour: tones and textures win out! 

Today’s nomination for a fellow blogger to take up the challenge is Tracy Bezesky , remember it’s just a bit of fun so no pressure at all to take part as don’t know if you like to take photos, sure even if you want to do a monochrome painting or nothing at all its no worries 🙂 x

 

The rules of the Black and White challenge are:

1) To post a photo every day for 5 days
2) To write a story to accompany your photo for 5 days (this can be fiction or non-fiction, a page, a paragraph or a poem)
3) To nominate a different person each day

Happy snapping, everyone!

Cam x
IMG_1135

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Black and white challenge Day 2 of 5

Leave a Comment, I would love to hear from you :) you can comment through FB/Twitter tab on this also

