Planting the seeds of creativity…

Dads garden

If you have looked over any of my pieces you will see that I LOVE colour,especially from flowers and nature.

Ive been pondering why… looking at what inspires me, trying to pin down why one artist favours certain tones or colours and others,like me,paint the rainbow πŸ™‚

Now, I’m not always colour happy, I can keep it simple when I want, but I always tend to let a pop of colour seep in here or there… I just can’t help it.

I love photographing Dads flowers…

IMG_0534

image

image

So, snapping photos of dads garden, in this rare sunny weather we areΒ having, I realised that my love of colour is genetic. Our house has always been colourful.

My dads an avid gardner.. Our house is one with billions of flowers, overflowing baskets and a beautiful pond.

Colourful blooms blast out of the green wherever you look. Mam fills inside the house with beautiful flower arrangements picked from the garden.

I think gardening is an art, dad grows his canvas, mam fills the house with it and I photograph/paint it πŸ™‚ and the dogs destroy it hehe…

Gardening is the art that uses flowers and plants as paint and the soil and sky as canvas – Elizabeth Murray

I’ve painted many of the parentals flowers over the years. I often stroll up and take photos in their garden; or secret garden as I think of it.

You have to go up steps, through a gate and under an arch to peek through at it. Its magical in its way, just like the movie, a secret haven.

How could you not be inspired with these views?

Ireland is so beautiful in the sun and the snow.. Especially in dads colourful canvas of a backyard πŸ™‚

Side note,you can see my sun love coming through in many of these… Now I’m aware of it I see it everywhere!

The effort that goes into keeping a garden this pretty is insane, if only I wasn’t so lazy Id try learn a thing or two..

I think I’m better behind the camera/easel than trying to keep plants alive! My flowers stay alive on canvas without water :p

Bring on the summer and the colour explosion and some new flowers to paint!

As you can see below the flowers are dying off to make way for new blooms. Even clinging on to their last few days they are beautiful!

Happy Paddys weekend from the (shockingly) sunny south east!

Cam x

9 thoughts on “Planting the seeds of creativity…

Leave a Comment, I would love to hear from you :) you can comment through FB/Twitter tab on this also

