Watercolour studies 

I decided to do some watercolour figure studies. My focus was to keep them free and loose, I let the wash of colour and dripping paint speak…try to be less literal on the details.

 

 

What I love about these images is that they have that  hazy memory feeling. Like you are grasping just a glimpse of a moment. It’s good for me to loosen my style and it’s something I favour with life drawing.. However my colour love can’t be held down for long 🙂

 

Watercolour is so lovely for figure drawings, it can bring a wash of emotions in its simplicity. Of course you can get loads of detail if you want but I’ve always favoured the primitiveness of keeping it unbound and free.

I promised myself I was going to do more life drawing in 2015 and I am really enjoying it 🙂 expect many more pieces! 

But for now I’ll leave you with this:

There is nothing more rare, nor more beautiful, than a woman being unapologetically herself; comfortable in her perfect imperfection. To me, that is the essence of beauty.    – Steve Maraboli

Amen to that!

Cam x

 

6 thoughts on “Watercolour studies 

Leave a Comment, I would love to hear from you :) you can comment through FB/Twitter tab on this also

