Banana Bread Heaven

 image
Don’t worry, I’m going to stick to being an artist, Im not a baker..I love me some good food but I am no a great chef. If I can make something that tastes nice I had to share as that means it’s fool proof 🙂 

So Yummy!

So Yummy!

Over my 32 years I have perfected the art of getting ppl to cook for me. The secret is the honesty of my enthusiasm, this involves…jumping .. hugs…yelps of happiness… Oh and begging!!! This skill think is from being the baby in the family and having everything done for me.. thats my laziness winning out. I am a grown up now 😦 well grown up!! So…mission for 2015, is learning to perfect some dishes, so I have some go to items in my reportaire… Simple ones even I can’t mess up 🙂

Spoiler alert …Its not healthy… I’ll work my way to healthy recipes I am sure….well maybe 😛

Now, I discovered the yumminess that is this Banana bread from above said lazy option of harassment/begging. A poor soul that I work with,his daughter makes this… he brings it into work… and we steal it.. its so tasty.. its more of a cake than a bread really.

Pack it up and share!

Pack it up and share!

I have perfected the art of shouting across the yard a weekly chorus of ‘whens your daughter making banana bread’.. nagging works 🙂 BUT I was beginning to feel guilty so I decided to try make it for myself . Sucess! Its yummy.

My oven is gereatric so that along with my lack of any skills in the kitchen make for an interesting voyage but it turned out yum and everyone loves it. I think the original recipe could be Odlums but I cant find it.. either way thats a great site..

Dont forget to wrap up some for friends

Go forth and bake! (Maybe wait til it cools a bit to cut.. Animal here has no patience 😛 )

Cam x

imageIngredients:

3 small mashed over ripe bananas

2 eggs

1/2 tsp of salt

2 tsp of baking powder

1 tsp vanilla essence/extract

250g soft margarine/butter

300g plain flour

250g sugar

Method:

  • preheat oven to 180/gas mark 4
  • mix dry together- flour/salt/baking powder
  • mix butter and sugar together until fluffy
  • beat egg/vanilla into butter sugar mixture then add mashed banana and vanilla essence
  • mix in dry ingredients
  • put mixture in a loaf tin lined with parchment and put in oven for hour. Leave to cool for 10 mins
  • Tip: cover the top in tinfoil to stop it burning at top as its a long cooking time if ur oven is old like mine

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Banana Bread Heaven

Leave a Comment, I would love to hear from you :) you can comment through FB/Twitter tab on this also

