Saying I Do to staying inspired

My health inspiration

My health inspiration

So I didn’t intend to do any blogs… Who wants to hear my ramblings or see my little drawings? But I was inspired. What are friends for but to keep you on your toes and inspire you? My ladies Lisa and Rachel have lovely wellness/nutrition blogs and I love them. Their blogs are about good food,wellness, health and nutrition and I wait for each post (and photos of food cause I’m an animal) with excitement. Anyone who knows me knows I like to look at photos and recipes of food… especially if there is a chance you are gonna cook it for me, if u are reading this and in the Clonmel area feel free to drop me something nice… :P.

 

 

Melissas Hearts up aisle

Melissas Hearts up aisle

However, I wasn’t sure that people would be so interested in my art updates. Everyone loves food.. but paintings of cows and life drawing not as much 🙂 but this isn’t about how manypeople will read it.. what I realised, is that it’s about keeping myself motivated and inspired! And it works! By linking into a network of passionate people, whether their passion be food, crafts, fashion or books I am inspired to include my creativity more in my daily life. Having to post an update is a gentle reminder to make time for yourself to get creative and keep focused.. another thing I could do with help on as I’ve the attention span of a goldfish 😛

 

 

 

Wedding Guest Board Signing

Wedding Guest Board Signing

I think the people around me are getting much more crafty. (I blame Pinterest– thank you). With practically everyone I know getting married now and the DIY bride growing in popularity, I got to have loads of fun helping my friends with wedding plans. They want to get crafty and I want to help.  It started with me doing some table signs for my friend Annie, then a caricature board for my bestie Pamela and with each wedding I am getting more involved and, to over use the word, inspired 🙂

 

 

 

Ash & Dannys Cake

Ash & Dannys Cake

DIY Wedding ideas are great. You just need some bravery. Last year myself and my cousin Mel volunteered to make the cake for our cousin Ash, I didn’t bake- I beautified 🙂 , Melissa made an amazing variety of biscuit cakes and I covered. (yep the easy part!) It was actually scary as we were panicked it would all fall apart or be hideous but it turned out amazing and saved her a few bob I think, and got us a chance to be an extra special part of the day and show our love the best way we know how.. with food 😛 (side note.. god bless google.. howtostackacake )

If you are anyway able to bake you are sorted, though again there is always that element of fear.. Mel I think the memory of us trying to get that giant biscuit cake out of the tin will stay forever . hairdryers rock 🙂 Get brave and do it. Especially if you choose biscuit cake, as you can do it a bit before the wedding and add the flowers near the day.

 

IMG_5559        IMG_5571      IMG_9538

 

Amazing cake hilighted by mod podge

Amazing cake hilighted by mod podge

I think our stella teamwork encouraged Mel, as we went hell for leather on crafts for her wedding this Christmas. Mel is very creative anyway so she was always gonna add her own touches to her special day. For her Hen she had a vintage housewife theme and we made little aprons for all the girls. It was so easy and they looked great. (ok not really ‘we’ I mostly ironed and cut out stuff but im taking credit too lol) The sewing machine filled me with fear but it was all new to Mel and she did it with no problems. Here is something similar . Go for it. It’s a great momento that everyone gets to keep in their kitchen.. will last much longer than the flashing headbands 🙂

Then for the wedding she had lovely touches. She collected small jars (from aldi yogurts) and with her flower girl she mod-podged and glittered them (this wasn’t child labour she was fed in brownies… just how Mel pays me 😛 ) It’s a great little thing to do with the younger members of the bridal party – it makes them feel included and they create something amazing. These candle holders were set out on each table at the wedding and to match, she did the same to some frames with her and hubbies parents photos in them. She also picked up a ‘love’ block from penny’s that she mod-podged . All so simple but  as you can see it looked beautiful.. little touches that added to the festive sparkle feeling of the wedding. How amazing is her cake.. we didnt make it but WOW.

Wedding Post Box

Wedding Post Box

Her Dad (Mr Handy Carpenter) made this post box and my sister cut up the lettering (I will admit I tried. me and straight lines are not friends..I will never make a surgeon :O ) We made thought bubbles for the photo booth and she had a mini Polaroid camera that I took photos of the ceremony and the reception on. They looked amazing! I loved it.. all these little touches were so special. But most importantly, we spent many a happy evening gossiping and getting our craft on and eating brownies. I absolutely love sitting around getting crafty and having the chat. Makes me feel like im back in Crawford. except much warmer 😛

IMG_9913     Thought bubble  IMG_9909 Thought bubbles

Wedding Signature Board Finger print

Wedding Signature Board Finger print

I wanted to do something extra special for Mels’ wedding instead of a caricature signature board we went for something different and more in theme with her vintage inspired wedding: a finger print board. These are so lovely, your guests stamp their finger as a leaf on the tree and sign their name and you have a lovely little memento of our special day. If you are looking to make your day special I hope i have assured you how simple it is. If you are local to me in Clonmel a lot of this stuff is available in Fieldmaster.

And dont forget if you are looking for something to make your day that extra bit special check out my caricature signature boards.

Go forth and DIY! I have faith in you 🙂

Cam x

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Saying I Do to staying inspired

Leave a Comment, I would love to hear from you :) you can comment through FB/Twitter tab on this also

